

Malaria

Countries and territories certified malariafree by WHO

Last update: 22 May 2019

Certification of malaria elimination, 1955–2019

Countries that have achieved at least 3 consecutive years of zero indigenous cases are eligible to apply for a WHO certification of malaria-free status.

WHO Region	Country/territory	Countries certified malaria-free ^{a, b, c,} ^{d, e}	Countries where malaria never existed or disappeared without specific measures f
Africa			
	Algeria	2019	
	Lesotho		2012
	Mauritius	1973	
	La Réunion (France)	1979	
	Seychelles		2012
Eastern	Mediterranean		
	Bahrain		2012
	Jordan		2012
	Kuwait	-	1963
	Lebanon	-	2012
	Libya	-	2012
	Morocco	2010	
	Qatar		2012
	Tunisia		2012
 Eastern 	Seychelles Mediterranean Bahrain Jordan Kuwait Lebanon Libya Morocco Qatar		2012 2012 1963 2012 2012 2012

5/10/2019

WHO | Countries and territories certified malaria-free by WHO

5	5/10/2019		WHO Countries	and territories certified malaria-free
	WHO Region	Country/territory	Countries certified malaria-free ^{a, b, c,} ^{d, e}	Countries where malaria never existed or disappeared without specific measures ^f
		United Arab Emirates	2007	
	Europe			
		Albania		2012
		Andorra		2012
		Armenia	2011	
		Austria		1963
		Belarus		2012
		Belgium		1963
		Bosnia and Herzegovina	1973	
		Bulgaria	1965	
		Croatia	1973	
		Cyprus	1967	
		Czechia		1963
		Denmark		1963
		Estonia		2012
		Finland		1963
		France (Metropolitan)		2012
		Germany		1964
		Greece		2012
		Hungary	1964	
		Iceland		1963
		Ireland		1963
		Israel		2012
		Italy	1970	
		Kazakhstan		2012
		Kyrgyzstan	2016	
		Latvia		2012
		Lithuania		2012
		Luxembourg		2012

WHO | Countries and territories certified malaria-free by WHO

5	5/10/2019		WHO Countries	and territories certified r	mala
	WHO Region	Country/territory	Countries certified malaria-free ^{a, b, c,} ^{d, e}	Countries where malaria never existed or disappeared without specific measures ^f	
		Malta		1963	
		Monaco		1963	
		Montenegro	1973		
		Netherlands	1970		
		Norway		1963	
		Poland	1967		
		Portugal	1973		
		Republic of Moldova		2012	
		Romania	1967		
		Russian Federation		2012	
		San Marino		1963	
		Serbia	1973		
		Slovakia		1963	
		Slovenia	1973		
		Spain	1964		
		Sweden		1963	
		Switzerland		1963	
		The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia	1973		
		Turkmenistan	2010		
		Ukraine		2012	
		United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland		1963	
		Uzbekistan	2018		
	America	IS			
		Antigua and Barbuda		2012	
		Argentina	2019		
		Bahamas		2012	
		Barbados		1968	

WHO | Countries and territories certified malaria-free by WHO

Ę	5/10/2019		WHO Countries	and territories certified m	alaria-f
	WHO Region	Country/territory	Countries certified malaria-free ^{a, b, c,} ^{d, e}	where malaria never existed or	
				disappeared without specific measures ^f	
		Canada		1965	
		Chile		1968	
		Cuba	1973		
		Dominica	1966		
		Grenada	1962		
		Jamaica	1966		
		Paraguay	2018		
		Saint Kitts and Nevis		2012	
		Saint Lucia	1962		
		Saint Vincent and the Grenadines		2012	
		Trinidad and Tobago	1965		
		United States of America	1970		
		Uruguay		2012	
	South-E	ast Asia			
		Maldives	2015		
		Sri Lanka	2016		
	Western	Pacific			
		Australia	1981		
		Brunei Darussalam	1987		
		Cook Islands		1963	
		Fiji		1963	
		Japan		2012	
		Kiribati		2012	
		Marshall Islands		1963	
		Micronesia (Federated States of)		1963	
		Mongolia		1963	
		Nauru		1963	

5/10/2019

WHO | Countries and territories certified malaria-free by WHO

	WHO Region	Country/territory	Countries certified malaria-free ^{a, b, c,} ^{d, e}	Countries where malaria never existed or disappeared without specific measures ^f	
		New Zealand		1963	
		Niue		1963	
		Palau		1963	
		Samoa		1963	
		Singapore	1982		
		Tonga		1963	
		Tuvalu		2012	

Notes:

^a Until 1987, the register was known as the "WHO official register of areas where malaria eradication has been achieved".

^b For the purpose of this publication, reference is made to the official name of WHO Member States as of 11 June 2018.

^c The Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela (northern) was certified as malaria-free in June 1961.

^d Taiwan (China) was certified malaria-free in November 1965.

^e La Reunion is a French overseas region which was certified malaria-

free independently from Metropolitan France.

^f These countries are added to the Supplementary list.

Related links

Update on the E-2020 initiative of 21 malaria-eliminating countries Q&A on the E-2020 initiative and malaria elimination Interactive map of malaria-eliminating countries Malaria elimination

What we do	>
Regions	~
About us	*

Subscribe to our newsletter

Privacy Legal Notice

© 2019 WHO